Tuesday, August 3, 2010

NC State's Ted Brown one of 12 ACC legends to be honored

ACC NEWS RELEASE - Led by the Atlantic Coast Conference’s all-time career rushing leader in NC State’s Ted Brown, Georgia Tech’s only three-time first-team All-America in Randy Rhino, and one of only five players in ACC history to have been named ACC Player of the Year twice in Clemson’s Steve Fuller, the ACC Tuesday announced its Class of 2010 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game Legends.

The Legends will be honored at this year’s Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game weekend. They will be honored at the ACC Night of Legends event on Friday, Dec. 3, will also be recognized during ceremonies at Bank of America Stadium for the 6th Annual Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship, which has a 7:45 p.m. kickoff on Dec. 4 and will be nationally televised by ESPN.

Joining the three mentioned above as 2010 ACC Legends this year are Boston College’s Tony Thurman, one of the leading pass interceptors in college football history; Maryland’s Darryl Hill, a standout wide receiver who was the first African-American football player in the Atlantic Coast Conference; and a trio of some of the best defensive linemen to ever play college football in Florida State defensive end Peter Boulware, the 1996 ACC Defensive Player of the Year; Miami defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy, an eight-time NFL Pro Bowl performer; and Virginia Tech defensive end Cornell Brown, who was named National Defensive Player of the Year in 1995 by The Football News.

Completing this year’s Legends Class is a quartet of running backs any coach would love to have on their team in Duke’s Jay Wilkinson, the 1963 ACC Player of the Year; North Carolina’s Ethan Horton, chosen by the Associated Press as the ACC’s 1984 Player of the Year; Virginia’s Barry Word, the 1985 ACC Player of the Year; and Wake Forest’s Larry Hopkins, who led the Deacons to the 1970 ACC Football Championship and then led the ACC in rushing in 1971.

No comments:

Post a Comment